Items for Campus Connections (I miss piggy's pithy comments!)

Lynne D. Williams, medical school information October 3, 1990

Med School Dean Robert M. Daugherty, in his State of the School address on Sept. 26, announced that the Outstanding Teacher for 1990 was associate professor of surgery, D. Byron McGregor, M.D. In addition to his plaque, Dr. McGregor received a check for \$2500. Jan Shipley, a management assistant for internal medicine, was named the Outstanding Staff Employee. Shipley received a check for \$500 and will have the use of a "Reserved" parking space at the Veteran's Administration Medical Center for one year.

Earlene T. Paynter, Ph.D., speech pathology and audiology, was appointed chair of the 1990-91 Honors and Awards Committee of the American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association.

Ilga Winocov, Ph.D., microbiology/biochemistry, has been appointed to chair the American Association for Cancer Research, the Nevada State Legislative Committee.

Susan Thomas, psychiatry and behavioral sciences, has been elected to the Board of Directors of the Administrators in Academic Psychiatry, a national organization.

Kenneth Maehara, Ph.D., pathology, received a grant for "Enhancement and Expansion of the Existing Medical Laboratory Technology Program" from the Allied Health Project Grant section of Health and Human Services.