School of Medicine faculty receive awards at Hooding Ceremony

Lynne D. Williams, medical school information May 28, 1991

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

During graduation week ceremonies at the University of Nevada School of Medicine, two Las Vegas faculty members received special awards. The awards, which are given by the graduating medical students, recognize the faculty members for their excellence in teaching and acknowledge their dedication as role models and mentors to the students.

Sang Sun Ahn, M.D., Department of Pediatrics was named Outstanding Community Professor for Las Vegas.

James L. Lovett, M.D., Department of Surgery, was named Outstanding Resident for Las Vegas.

The awards were presented at the Dean's Senior Dinner on May 16.

School of Medicine faculty receive awards at Hooding Ceremony

Lynne D. Williams, medical school information May 28, 1991

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

During graduation week ceremonies at the University of Nevada School of Medicine, six Reno faculty members received special awards. The awards, which are given by the graduating medical students, recognize the faculty members for their excellence in teaching and acknowledge their dedication as role models and mentors to the students.

Michael V. Pokroy, M.D., Department of Pediatrics, was named Outstanding Community Professor for Reno.

Claude K. Lardinois, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine, was given the Outstanding Full-Time Clinical Faculty Award.

David W. Melarkey, III, Departments of Anatomy and Pathology, won the Outstanding Full-Time Basic Science Faculty Award.

George H. Hess, M.D., Chairman of Family and Community Medicine accepted the Outstanding Clinical Science Department Award.

Thomas R. Kozel, Ph.D., Chairman of the Department of Microbiology, accepted the Outstanding Basic Science Department Award.

Kenneth N. Hansen, D.O., Department of Internal Medicine, was named Outstanding Resident for Reno.

The awards were presented at the Dean's Senior Dinner on May 16.