

# UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA SCHOOL OF MEDICINE

Public Relations Office Savitt Medical Sciences Building / 356 Reno, Nevada 89557-0046 (702) 784-6003 FAX: (702) 784-6096

Public Relations Office 2040 W. Charleston Blvd., Suite #503 Las Vegas, Nevada 89102-2386 (702) 383-2638 FAX: (702) 486-3582

#### FOR THE GOOD HEALTH OF NEVADA

Med School's Hooding Ceremony is Friday

Lynette Hein, medical school information May 8, 1992

# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Forty seven new Nevada physicians will be honored at the University of Nevada School of Medicine's Academic Hooding Ceremony at 6:30 p.m., on Friday, May 15 at the Pioneer Theatre in Reno.

During this ceremony, senior medical students receive their academic hoods and take the Hippocratic Oath, symbol of their acceptance into the profession of medicine. The Class of 1992 is the thirteenth graduating class to receive their medical degrees in Nevada.

This year's hooding speaker is Rollan Melton, a prize-winning Nevada journalist, columnist and author. Melton was a teen-ager when he began his newspaper career as a printer in Fallon. After earning a journalism degree from the University of Nevada, Reno, he became a reporter at the Reno-Gazette-Journal. He was named publisher eight years later. He is now a senior member of the board of directors of the Gannett Company, publisher of USA Today.

Melton, a long-time supporter of the School of Medicine, is a former Univ ersity of Nevada System Regent and was named a Distinguished Nevadan in 1978. Melton was awarded an honorary doctorate at the university in 1984.

During the ceremony, Dean Robert M. Daugherty will present the Dean's Award to an individual who has made important contributions to the School of Medicine. This year's award will be presented to the Honorable Virgil M. Getto "for insightful legislative leadership and for brave and vigorous support of medical education and research."

Page 2 May 8, 1992

The "Praeceptor Carissimus" Award will be given to Leslie A. Moren, M.D., a long-time Elko physician and School of Medicine professor emeritus. The award is given annually to a physician whose personal and professional example serves as a role model for new physicians.

For additional information on 1992 School of Medicine graduation activities, contact Lynette Hein at 383-2638.

-30-

Attachment: Class list, according to home town

# CLASS OF 1992

### Las Vegas

Terri Bigler, M.D. Deborah Boland, M.D. Scott B. Boman, M.D. Maria Dina Tomas-Burke, M.D. Craig D. Clark, M.D. Karen L. Crites-Scavetta, M.D. Edward I. Dagher, M.D. Tracy J. Fauerbach, M.D. Timothy G. Gentner, M.D. Robert T. Grossmann, M.D. Russell W. Hunt, M.D. John V. Martin, M.D. Valerie J. Miller, M.D. Sarah L. Newton, M.D. Jeffrey J. Roth, M.D. Raymond R. Tangredi, M.D. Cynthia L. Zeng-Ferrell, M.D.

# Reno

Twylla R. Cox, M.D.
Sherrie A. Crouch Hald, M.D.
Elisa M. DeAngelis, M.D.
Andrew J. Elliott, M.D.
Lynn Greenhouse, M.D.
Leslie S. Harrington, M.D.
Marie M. McCormack, M.D.
Blair McGirk, M.D.
Kathleen M. Murphy, M.D.
Daniel T. Nason, M.D.
Patrick J. Osgood, M.D.
Joan E. Sanford, M.D.
Lydia A. Villegas, M.D.

#### <u>Nevada</u>

Sean Barlow, M.D., Henderson Frieda M. Hulka, M.D., Carson City Theresa C. Mills-Murdock, M.D., Sparks Bruce J. Morris, M.D., Boulder City Todd A. Pitts, M.D., Carson City Robert S. Rudolphi, M.D., Henderson Karl Weber, M.D., Ruth

#### Out of State

Lizbeth Berge, M.D., Anchorage, AK
Timothy J. Downing, M.D., Bozeman, MT
F. Matthew Johnson, M.D., Memphis, TN
Michael W. Juby, M.D., Independence, KS
Gale H. Lawrence, M.D., Newport Beach, CA
Jeffrey T. Liu, M.D., Anaheim, CA
Colleen M. Marron, M.D., Twin Falls, ID
Earl Z. Meservy, M.D., La Habra, CA
Oludare Onisile, M.D., Nigeria/Houston, TX
Matthew A. Stein, M.D., Stockton, CA