

UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA SCHOOL OF MEDICINE

Public Relations Office
Savitt Medical Sciences Building / 356
Reno, Nevada 89557-0046
(702) 784-6003
EAX: (702) 784-6096

Public Relations Office 2040 W. Charleston Blvd., Suite #503 Las Vegas, Nevada 89102-2386 (702) 383-2638 FAX: (702) 486-3582

FOR THE GOOD HEALTH OF NEVADA

Med school's Academic Hooding Ceremony is next Friday

Lynne Williams, medical school information May 6, 1994

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Forty new Nevada physicians will be honored at the University of Nevada School of Medicine's Academic Hooding Ceremony at 6:30 p.m., Friday, May 13 at the Pioneer Theatre.

During the ceremony, senior medical students receive their academic hoods and take the Hippocratic Oath, the symbol of their acceptance into the profession of medicine. The Class of 1994 is the fifteenth graduating class to receive their medical degrees from Nevada's only medical school.

This year's hooding speaker is the Honorable Proctor Hug, Jr., a federal judge with the United States Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. Twenty five years ago, at the same meeting when the University of Nevada System Board of Regents voted to approve establishing the School of Medicine, Judge Hug became the chairman of the board. As chairman, he supported the school, stating that the health sciences curriculum would strengthen undergraduate and graduate programs on both the Reno and Las Vegas campuses, and would give Nevada's young people a chance to pursue careers in medicine. In 1982, his daughter, Cheryl Hug-English became one of those Nevada young people who gained a medical education in her home state.

Med school's Academic Hooding Ceremony is next Friday

Lynne Williams, medical school information May 6, 1994

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Forty new Nevada physicians will be honored at the University of Nevada School of Medicine's Academic Hooding Ceremony at 6:30 p.m., Friday, May 13 at the Pioneer Theatre.

During the ceremony, senior medical students receive their academic hoods and take the Hippocratic Oath, the symbol of their acceptance into the profession of medicine. The Class of 1994 is the fifteenth graduating class to receive their medical degrees from Nevada's only medical school.

This year's hooding speaker is the Honorable Proctor Hug, Jr., a federal judge with the United States Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. Twenty five years ago, at the same meeting when the University of Nevada System Board of Regents voted to approve establishing the School of Medicine, Judge Hug became the chairman of the board. As chairman, he supported the school, stating that the health sciences curriculum would strengthen undergraduate and graduate programs on both the Reno and Las Vegas campuses, and would give Nevada's young people a chance to pursue careers in medicine. In 1982, his daughter, Cheryl Hug-English became one of those Nevada young people who gained a medical education in her home state.

During the Hooding Ceremony, Dean Robert M. Daugherty presents the Dean's Award to individuals who have made important contributions to the School of Medicine. Two awards will be presented this year. One goes to James W. Johnson for his service on the school's Advisory Board and for his unwavering advocacy of the School of Medicine; and the second to Dr. V.A. ("Dr. Sal") and Mariam Salvadorini for their support of excellence in pathology education and research.

The dean also will be presenting a special "Founder's Award" to Fred M. Anderson, M.D., who pushed to have a medical school established in Nevada, and is considered the "father of the medical school."

The "Praeceptor Carissimus" Award will be given to Ernest W. Mack, M.D., Professor Emeritus, Surgery. This award is given annually to a physician whose personal and professional example serves as a role model for new physicians.

For additional information on 1994 School of Medicine graduation activities, or to arrange an interview with Judge Hug, contact Lynne Williams at 784-6003.

-30-

Attachment: Class list and hometowns

University of Nevada School of Medicine Class of 1994

Reno Aref A. Bhuiya, M.D. Claudia Ann Christman, M.D. Martin Edward Dennis, M.D. Kurt Otto Doggwiler, M.D., Ph.D. Robert Karl Haag, M.D. John Joseph Halki, II, M.D. Jake H. Ichino, M.D. Kirk Alan Kaiser, M.D. Tania S. Kellermeyer, M.D. Jonathan Raymond Lucas, M.D. Jeffrey T. Mack, M.D. Mitchell Scott Meyers, M.D. Monica Jayne Nitsch, M.D. Dan Gary Snow, M.D. Audrie A. Soto, M.D. Robert Walter Watson, II, M.D.

Las Vegas
James Anthony Bakerink, M.D.
Jay Lee Ballen, M.D.
Thomas Brockie Fraser III, M.D.
Andrew James Gilchrist, M.D.
Doherty Bresnahan Gilchrist, M.D.
Gregory Paul Harbach, M.D.
Cliff L. Kahle III, M.D.
Sylvia Lee Morgan, M.D.
Patrick Henry Rask, M.D.
Timothy Thomas Sauter, M.D.
Eugene Chung Somphone, M.D.
Kendall Stuart Truelsen, M.D.
Mark L. Waltzman, M.D.

Jason Lee Blaser, M.D., Rexburg, Idaho
Douglas Ray Debenham, M.D., Anchorage, Alaska
Onna Jernigan Earle, M.D., Fallon
Kris M. Green, M.D., Pocatello, Idaho
Joni Wilkin Hougaard, M.D., Ely
Diana Cordwell Johns, M.D., Kellogg, Idaho
Alan J. Kelly, M.D., Missoula, Montana
Mark L. Mansfield, M.D., Fallon
Daniel Wells Moullet, M.D.
Alane Marie Olson, M.D., Moscow, Idaho
Kenneth Todd Thunder, M.D., Carson City