NEWS RELEASE



UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA SCHOOL OF MEDICINE

Public Relations Office Savitt Medical Sciences Building/356 Reno, Nevada 89557-0046 (702) 784-6003 FAX: (702) 784-6096 **Public Relations Office** 2040 W. Charleston Blvd., Suite #503 Las Vegas, Nevada 89102-2386 (702) 383-2638 FAX: (702) 486-3582

FOR THE GOOD HEALTH OF NEVADA

Reno medical students win awards

Lynne Williams, medical school information May 29, 1996

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Ten graduating students at the University of Nevada School of Medicine walked away with awards and honors at the school's Awards Ceremony on May 16.

Colleen Capurro, M.D., garnered the most, winning six honors: Outstanding Student in Familily Practice for Reno, Outstanding Student in Internal Medicine for Reno, Richard Blurton Award for Outstanding Student in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Jamet M. Glasgow Memorial Award as the top woman student, and the Upjohn Achievement Award.

She also was inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the national honorary medical society, which recognizes and perpetuates excellence in the medical profession.

Other Reno graduates who were honored are:

Dennis Small, M.D., earned the Dean's Scholar Award as the best student in the class of 1996;

Patricia Beenfeldt, M.D., The Generalist Clerkship Pilot Pioneer Award; Sukhi Johal, M.D., Outstanding Student in Neuroscience; Michael Koester, M.D., Excellence in Pediatrics, and the Generalist Clerkship Pilot Pioneer Award;

Lyn Knoblock, M.D., Outstanding Clinical Performance in Surgery, and a Janet M. Glasgow Memorial Achievement Citation;

Stephanie Murdock, M.D., Lillian Orchow Prize for Outstanding Student in Psychiatry;

Cecilia Stuopis, M.D., Janet M. Glasgow Memorial Achievement Citation; and Susan Wohletz, M.D., The Richard Inskip Family Practice Award.

Award winners from other Nevada communities are:

Steve Elliott, M.D., and Mike Lepire, M.D., both from Carson City, earned The Generalist Clerkship Pilot Pioneer Awards;

Patricia Howell, M.D., from Starr Valley, won a Janet M. Glasgow

Memorial Achievement Citation and a Merck Manual Award; and

Patricia Howell, M.D., and Robert Leposavic, M.D., (from Incline Village) were also inducted into AOA.

###

dw2/Releases/stu.awardsrno