



Public Relations Office Savitt Medical Sciences Building / 356 Reno, Nevada 89557-0046 (702) 784-8059 FAX: (702) 784-6096 Public Relations Office 2040 W. Charleston Blvd., Suite #400 Las Vegas, Nevada 89102-2386 (702) 671-2208 FAX: (702) 671-2277

FOR THE GOOD HEALTH OF NEVADA

School of Medicine Honors Students, Faculty and Friends

Lynne Williams, medical school information May 14, 1999

EMBARBOED UNTIL FRIDAY, MAY 14, AT 8 P.M.

During last week's graduation festivities, the students, faculty and friends of the University of Nevada School of Medicine were awarded for their accomplishments.

Graduating seniors who earned honors were: Travis E. Vincent, Harriet and George M. Basta Medical Student Award; Alan D. Savoy, Dr. R.M. Daugherty Leadership Award; Brian Rose, Dean's Scholar Award and Outstanding Student in Neuroscience; Edwin Keith Flower, Humanism in Medicine – Healthcare Foundation of New Jersey, and the Richard Blurton Award for Outstanding Student in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences; Kirin L. Madden, The Richard C. Inskip, M.D., Family Practice Award; Henry Matthew Davis, Barbara H. O'Rourke Memorial Award; Henry Matthew Davis, Reno, and Dara J. Welborn, Las Vegas, Outstanding Students in Family Practice; Alan G. Kelton, The Endocrine Society Medical Student Achievement Award; Alan G. Kelton, Reno, and Michael S. Lloyd, Las Vegas, Outstanding Students in Internal Medicine; Edwin Keith Flower, Kirin L. Madden, and Darrell L. Wilson, Outstanding Students in Special Qualifications in Nutrition; Bridget A. Thill,
Outstanding Student in Obstetrics and Gynecology; Venus Moe Wilke, Roland W. Stahr Award for Excellence in Clinical Pediatrics; Jenifer P. Dodge, Lillian Orchow Prize for

Outstanding Student in Psychiatry; **Scott J. Whitten**, Outstanding Student in Rural Health; and **Leslie K. Browder**, Outstanding Student in Surgery.

Eight graduates were also inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha, the national honorary medical society: Jeffrey Avansino, Alan Kelton, Michael Lloyd, Howard McGowan, Lee M. Reese, Brian T. Rose, Alan Savoy, and Venus Moe Wilke.

On Thursday evening, students presented awards to faculty members and departments they considered outstanding during their four years in medical school. They named Nitin Bhatt, M.D., of Reno, Kevin Murray, M.D., of Las Vegas, and Kenneth Maehara, Ph.D., Basic Science, Reno, as Outstanding Full-Time Teachers; Donald Day, M.D., Reno, and Ralph Conti, M.D., Las Vegas, as Outstanding Community Teachers; and Internal Medicine, Reno, Surgery, Las Vegas, and Microbiology, Basic Sciences, as Outstanding Departments.

Outstanding Residents Awards were given to Colleen Capurro, M.D., Reno, and Warren Volker, M.D., Las Vegas.

During the Hooding Ceremonies on Friday night, Dr. Rex T. Baggett of Carson City was presented with the Thomas J. Scully Praeceptor Carissimus Award, which honors a physician who is an outstanding example of a caring mentor to medical students. Dean's Awards were given to The Honorable Joseph E. Dini, Jr., Speaker of the Nevada State Assembly for his 30 years of support for the medical school, and to H. Gregory Nasky of Las Vegas, for his long service as a member and chairman of the school's Advisory Board.