

UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA SCHOOL OF MEDICINE

Public Relations Office Savitt Medical Sciences Building/356 Reno, Nevada 89557-0046 (702) 784-8059 FAX: (702) 784-6096

Public Relations Office 2040 W. Charleston Blvd., Suite #400 Las Vegas, Nevada 89102-2386 (702)671-2208FAX: (702) 671-2277

FOR THE GOOD HEALTH OF NEVADA

School of Medicine are presented

Lynne Williams, medical school information May 18, 2000

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Jaked to Grand Deur James Hazette -At the Annual Awards Ceremony, May 11 on the Reno campus at the University of Nevada School of Medicine, the following students from Washoe County received recognition for their achievement:

Angela Rose Caffaratti, Harriet and George M. Basta Medical Student Award, and The Richard C. Inskip, M.D., Family Practice Award

Vidur Mahadeva, Outstanding Student in Family Practice, Reno

Robert Nachtsheim, Dr. R. M. Daugherty Leadership Award

Rafaela G. Hernandez, Humanism in Medicine – Healthcare Foundation of New Jersey

Neena Reddy, Outstanding Student in Internal Medicine, Reno

Claire Leve, Outstanding Student in Special Qualifications in Nutrition

Karen Papez, Roland W. Stahr Award for Excellence in Clinical Pediatrics, and the

Phillip Piccinini, Lillian Orchow Prize for Outstanding Student in Psychiatry

Richard Blurton Award for Outstanding Student in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Randall Jack, Outstanding Student in Obstetrics and Gynecology

Joseph Williams, Outstanding Student in the Practice of Medicine Clerkship, Reno

Scott Shepherd, Society for Academic Emergency Medicine, 2000 Excellence in

Emergency Medicine Award

Neena Reddy, Janet M. Glasgow Memorial Award (given to the woman with the highest academic record).

-MORE-

Janet M. Glasgow Memorial Citations (given to women with the best academic records): Lynn Liu, Thea J. Lovett, Carie McVay-Smith, Lynda Molloy, and Kathleen Riley; and Timothy O'Mara and Carie McVay-Smith were given Merck Manual Awards.

Five members of the Class of 2000 from Washoe County were inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha, the national honorary medical society, which recognizes and perpetuates excellence in the medical profession. To be eligible for membership, students must have outstanding academic credentials, demonstrate leadership qualities, and be involved in activities in their community. New inductees are: Matthew Exline, Carie McVay-Smith, David Miller, Timothy O'Mara, and Neena Reddy.

The following School of Medicine faculty and staff were recognized by the graduating students for outstanding dedication to students:

Outstanding Full-Time Teacher: John Eaton, M.D., professor, Internal Medicine
Outstanding Teacher, Basic Science: Kenneth T. Maehara, Ph.D., associate professor,

Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Outstanding Community Teacher: Timothy Bray, M.D., assistant professor, surgery

Outstanding Department in Reno: Internal Medicine

Outstanding Medical Resident for Reno: Brian Ricks, M.D.

Peggy Dupey, M.D., and **Diane Krutz**, School of Medicine Office of Student Affairs, were honored by the Class of 2000 for "their dedication and commitment to students."