

UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA SCHOOL OF MEDICINE

Public Relations Office Savitt Medical Sciences Building / 356 Reno, Nevada 89557-0046 (702) 784-8059 FAX: (702) 784-6096 Public Relations Office 2040 W. Charleston Blvd., Suite #400 Las Vegas, Nevada 89102-2386 (702) 671-2208 FAX: (702) 671-2277

FOR THE GOOD HEALTH OF NEVADA

Medical School Class of 1999 are inducted into the medical profession

Lori Haley, medical school information May 10, 1999

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

On Friday, May 14, 1999, at 6:30 p.m., at the Pioneer Center for the Performing Arts, the 52 members of the School of Medicine Class of 1999 will receive their academic hoods, take the Hippocratic Oath, and become formally inducted into the medical profession. Graduates will be hooded by a person who has been important to his or her medical education.

Members of the Class of 1981 have joined together to pledge money for the inaugural Alumni Class Endowment. Presentation of the gift, now close to \$200,000, will also be made at the Hooding Ceremony by Dr. Patrice Richardson.

This year's class chose Dr. Kevin D. Murray, associate professor of surgery and chief of cardiothoracic surgery, to be their featured speaker. Dr. Murray is based at the School of Medicine's Las Vegas campus.

Before joining the Nevada faculty in 1997, Dr. Murray was a faculty member in the Division of Cardiothoracic surgery at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis and at Ohio State University in Columbus. He also served as director of lung cancer treatment at the Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Research Institute, also in Columbus.

—MORE-

In 1983, Dr. Murray was given the American Heart Association for Outstanding

Service award by the Maryland Chapter, and was named Outstanding Teacher in the

Department of Surgery Faculty at Ohio State University School of Medicine in 1987.

For further information, contact Lori Haley, 671-2208.

Graduates from Las Vegas and other communities are:

Faranak Behnia, M.D.

Cari L. Croghan, M.D.

Colin C. Dircks, M.D.

Richard J. Gonzalez, M.D.

Othella Ann Catarata Jurani, M.D.

Jae Eun Kwak, M.D.

Shawn C. Mapleton, M.D.

Howard J. McGowan, M.D.

David G. Meldrum, M.D.

Sean D. Palacios, M.D.

Milan Lalji Patel, M.D.

Raymond B. Rawson, M.D.

Lee M. Reese, M.D.

Howard Roselinsky, M.D.

David A. Tack, Jr., M.D.

Bridget A. Thill, M.D.

Erica Vatsar-Fail, M.D.

Kristina A. Blohm, M.D., Elko

Michelle Knecht Brinkop, M.D., Carson City

Leslie K. Browder, M.D., Boulder City

Frederick Anthony Knutson Brown, M.D., Zehpr Cove

Henry Matthew Davis, M.D., Carson City

Jenifer Patricia Dodge, M.D., Choteau, Montana

Bret J. Earl, M.D., Overton

Edwin Keith Flower, M.D., Penryn, California

Heather Marie Hockenberry, M.D., Fallon

Alan Gene Kelton, M.D., Dayton

Cindy Lynn Kirby, M.D., Gardnerville

Kirin Leslie Madden, M.D., Elko

Jonas Seth Munger, M.D., Hawthorne

Brett Thomas Murray, M.D., Helena, Montana

Andrew Lousi Papez, M.D., Ely

Meredith Elaine Reynold, M.D., Battle Mountain

John William Sype, M.D., Caldwell, Idaho

Travis Erica Vincent, M.D., Sparks

Eric John Wattenburg, M.D., Greenville, California Dara Joan Welborn, M.D., Henderson Venus Moe Wilke, M.D., Boulder City